Skip to main content

Sources of sulphur oxides in air

Why we monitor sources of sulphur oxides

This indicator estimates the proportion of sulphur oxides in the air coming from industry, motor vehicles and home heating in the Waikato Region. Local industry is an important source of sulphur oxides in Te Awamutu and Putaruru. In Tokoroa, Taupo, Te Kuiti, Waihi, Matamata, Ngaruawahia, and Turangi, motor vehicles are the main source of sulphur oxides. In Hamilton, industry and home heating are almost equal sources of sulphur oxide.

Sulphur oxides have a strong, unpleasant smell, and can harm people’s health and our environment. Waikato Regional Council estimates the amount of sulphur oxides being produced by motor vehicles, industry and home heating to determine where sulphur oxides are coming from. We need to know this so we can reduce existing sources of pollution and predict any future problems that may arise. We can use this information to predict how changes in industries in one part of the region are likely to affect local air quality.

What's happening?

The main sources of air pollution in the Waikato region are motor vehicles, home heating and industry.

Waikato Regional Council monitors air pollution from motor vehicles, home heating and industry in:

  • Hamilton
  • Tokoroa
  • Taupo
  • Te Kuiti
  • Putaruru
  • Matamata
  • Waihi
  • Te Awamutu
  • Ngaruawahia
  • Turangi

We usually monitor air pollution in winter, as levels of air pollution are usually highest during this season. We estimate where sulphur oxides in air come from and how much is coming from each of the three main sources. This information helps us to identify potential impacts on air quality in different parts of the region and changes in air quality over time.

>>Find out more about these data and trends

More information

Useful links

When this indicator is updated 

This indicator will be updated every three to five years as new emission inventory data becomes available.

Contact at Waikato Regional Council

Air quality scientist - Science and Strategy Directorate.

Last updated 16 December 2008