Page content Page content Section navigation Topic navigation Accessibility keys Sitemap Search Contact us portal
Go to Waikato Regional Council homepage
search icon mail icon contact us icon

  Council » About us » Council, councillors and committees » Community committee appointees » Drainage advisory subcommittees

Drainage advisory subcommittees

Drainage subcommittee members are the link between drainage ratepayers and the regional council. They oversee the work programmes for the council’s drainage service in their relevant areas and make sure local needs and interests are taken into consideration.

There are four drainage advisory subcommittees – Aka Aka Otaua, Franklin Waikato, Waikato Central and Thames Valley. Each comprises landowner representatives and Waikato regional councillors who ensure there is detailed community input into the land drainage programmes for each area.

Recommendations from the drainage advisory subcommittees are reported back through the council’s Integrated Catchment Management Committee.

Community appointees

Community appointees serve in an advisory capacity on the drainage advisory subcommittees. Appointments are usually made every three years to coincide with the council triennial elections. However, this time the term of the appointees will be for a two year period due to a recent committee effectiveness review, which extended the period of the current membership.

Applications for landowner appointee positions on all drainage advisory subcommittees have closed. Successful/unsuccessful applicants will be notified by 31 July 2018. Find out more below.

>> Click here to read agendas, minutes and documents from drainage advisory subcommittee meetings.

More information

Download this booklet [PDF, 2.4 MB] or request a copy by calling 0800 800 401.

>> Click here to view a map(external link) and find your area. Contact details are below.



Cr Stu Husband

Cr Stu Kneebone


027 233 0030

021 943 055


Russell Powell


021 369 819


Russell Powell


021 369 819


Karen Botting


021 519 015


Russell Powell


021 369 819





About this site     Contact us     Feedback and complaints New Zealand Government