Page content Page content Section navigation Topic navigation Accessibility keys Sitemap Search Contact us www.govt.nz portal
Go to Waikato Regional Council homepage
search icon mail icon contact us icon

  Services » Regional Services » River and catchment management » Managing our region’s rivers and catchments » Zone catchment committees

Zone catchment committees

We have eight management zones in the Waikato region and these provide the basis under which our integrated catchment management programmes are undertaken. View a map showing these eight catchment management zones(external link)

There are catchment committees in place for all zones. The committees are made up of representatives from Waikato Regional Council's constituent councillors, key agencies with an interest in the zone, community representatives and property owners. Appointments to these committees are made on a three year cycle, based on the council’s triennial process.

Zone catchment committee members have an interest in integrated catchment management and outcomes, ensuring provision of effective programmes and services for communities in their zone. The representatives serve in an advisory capacity to council in relation to integrated catchment programmes within the particular zone.

The committees meet three to four times in a year. Meetings involve consideration of and recommendations related to integrated catchment strategies and programmes in the zone. Recommendations received from the one catchment committees are reported back through council’s Integrated Catchment Management standing committee.

Click here to read agendas, minutes and documents from zone catchment committee meetings

Local representatives

The following table lists the successful appointees to each zone.

Landowner / community representative name

Contact phone number

Email address

Lake Taupō

 
Michael Barton 073728919 mbarton@xtra.co.nz
Paul Green 0274447980 paul@tongariro.org.nz
Jane Penton 0277119426 janehadiadup@hotmail.com
Barry Pope 073865752 b.c.pope@xtra.co.nz
Cam Speedy 021383347 ngakowhai@xtra.co.nz
Eric Wilson 073860321 secretary@tongariroriver.org.nz
Susan Yerex 0212286838 sue.yerex@xtra.co.nz

Upper Waikato

 
John Atkinson 0274130520 jandsatkinson@gmail.com
Bruce Grant 072160256 brucetgrant@gmail.com
Roku Mihinui 0272246069 mihibig@gmail.com
George Moss 0272711160 gsmoss@xtra.co.nz
Ritchie Stokes 073338071 crstokes@farmside.co.nz
Mark Seymour 0274720153 markjanetseymour@gmail.com

Central

 

 

Brendan Hicks 078384661
021832287
hicksbj@waikato.ac.nz
Sue Edmonds 078241944 sueedmonds424@gmail.com
Maxine Moana-Tuwhangai 0274204475 mhgmoana@gmail.com

Waipa

 
Mark Frederikson 0274394205 hmfreddy@xtra.co.nz
Matt Buckley 0272318188 matt@eightmilefarms.co.nz
Rosemary Davison 078737354 rkmgdavison@xtra.co.nz
Bill Garland 078271807 rahiri.farm@waipamail.co.nz
Malcolm McKenzie 078737728 macali2018@gmail.com
Rachel Barton 078787646 arapito@xtra.co.nz
Giles Hailwood 0274390486 giles@jdrdwallace.co.nz
Andrea Hanna 0274966899 andrea@hanna.net.nz

Lower Waikato

 
Rosemarie Costar 092328517 rosemariecostar@slingshot.co.nz
Kelly Deihl
Syd Goodwright 0274745648 jenny.goodwright@gmail.com
Bruce Hill 078267680 hillfamily@hillgroup.co.nz
Kim Robinson 092333155 kim@lochielfarmlands.co.nz
Malcolm Lumsden 078288100 mjlumsden@xtra.co.nz
Keith Holmes jenholm@xtra.co.nz
Ian McDougall 092386314
0211354652
ian.w.mcdougall@gmail.com

Coromandel

 
Wanda Brljevich 0211668233 huarere.whangapoua@gmail.com
Warwick Brooks 0274912867 w.brooks@xtra.co.nz
Michael Donoghue 021870310 michael.donoghue@xtra.co.nz
Jenny Morrison 0273161384 hikuai.valley1@gmail.com
John Sanford 078690080 john.sanford@xtra.co.nz
William Stead 02102522091 bstead3@gmail.com
Peter Wood 078682262

Waihou Piako

 

 

Stuart Clarke 0210690307 tahaawafarm@outlook.com
Conall Buchanan 0276889984 c.r.buchanan@xtra.co.nz
Richard Cookson 021652423 cooksontrust@gmail.com
Robert Cookson 021752423 robert.cookson.1@gmail.com
Robert Hicks 078677059
0274906060
hicksk1@xtra.co.nz
Andrew McGiven 078844360 mcgivenaj@gmail.com
Stuart Edmeades 0274409899 stuedmeades@gmail.com
Roger Hunter 078675158 rogerhunter555@gmail.com

 West Coast

 
(Thomas) Mark Brough 0210637611 tmbrough@xtra.co.nz
Catherine Holland 0274944468 c.te.m.holland@gmail.com
Tom Mandeno 092333160 tomgmandeno@gmail.com
Mike Moss 078255714 mikemoss@xtra.co.nz
John Reeves 0275330366 jkreeves@xtra.co.nz
Stephen Reid 021774432 stephen@raglaneco.co.nz
Kristel van Houte 0274276242 kriekeboll@yahoo.com

 

Zone managers

 

Mobile Landline

Lake Taupō

Allan Kirk

 

021 913 250

 

07 213 2613

Upper Waikato

Allan Kirk

 

021 913 250

 

07 213 2613

Central

Jolene Francis

 

021 527 418

 

07 859 2765

Waipa

Grant Blackie

 

021 277 2798

 

07 859 0723

Lower Waikato

Sarah Lealand

 

021 190 0300

 

07 859 2781

Coromandel

Dean Allen

 

021 275 2292

 

07 211 6024

Waihou Piako

Karen Botting

 

021 519 015

 

07 862 8376

West Coast

Jolene Francis

 

021 527 418

 

07 859 2765

 

 

About this site     Contact us     Feedback and complaints New Zealand Government