Skip to main content

Iwi in our region

Photo of hongi on marae

Iwi throughout the region have expressed a desire to work in various forms of partnership with the Waikato Regional Council. Some of these aspirations are being embedded via Treaty of Waitangi settlements whilst others are expressed by memorandum of understanding and other formal and informal relationships. 

The principle iwi groups in our region are Waikato, Maniapoto, Raukawa, Hauraki, Te Arawa and Tūwharetoa. Within these iwi groups there are numerous hapū (sub-tribe). Iwi are often represented in an official capacity by an iwi authority, iwi trust board or rūnanga.

 Refer to the Kāhui Māngai website to view iwi, hapū and marae in your rohe (region): Kāhui Māngai -

Iwi web links

Visit the websites of our region's iwi and find out more about the iwi groups and how to contact them.

Hauraki Collective

Hauraki Māori Trust Board

Maniapoto Māori Trust Board

Ngāti Hikairo ki Kawhia

Ngāti Haua Iwi Trust

Ngāti Huarere a Hauraki

Ngāti Tamaoho

Ngāti Tahu Ngāti Whaoa Rūnanga Trust

Raukawa Charitable Trust  

Te Pūmautanga o Te Arawa

Te Arawa River Iwi Trust

Tūwharetoa Māori Trust Board 

Waikato-Tainui Te Kauhanganui Incorporated


Visualising Māori Land - This is a prototype tool for accessing and interpreting environmental information about Māori land.

Process for sending in details for the contacts databaseRautaki Puna Ingoa – Our Iwi Māori contact database

Tai-ranga-whenua, our Māori focus group within Waikato Regional Council, maintains an Iwi Māori contacts database for the Waikato region.  This database ensures that Waikato Regional Council is communicating with the right people.

If you wish to add your iwi/hapū/marae/personal details to the database or update your existing details, please contact us.

Mā whero mā pango ka oti ai te mahi – With red and black the work will be complete