Skip to main content
Published: 2004-05-31 00:00:00

Environment Waikato has awarded its annual Dame Te Ata Irangikaahu Maori Scholarship to Waikato University students Natasha Leavey, Tangihere Ormsby and Ronald Lavender. 

The scholarship was set up in 1991 to mark the 25th anniversary of Dame Te Ata Irangikaahu and is awarded on merit to Maori students undertaking resource management courses at Waikato University. Natasha and Tangihere each receive $1000 and Ronald Lavender $2000.

Ronald Lavender, from Whakatane, is in the third year of a BSc degree studying earth sciences. He previously won Whakatane District Council’s Young Achiever Award and also plays representative sport in several codes. He is interested in working in water fields.

Natasha Leevey is in the first year of a BSc (Tech) degree studying earth and environmental sciences along with Maori papers. From Huntly, she was head girl and dux at Te Whare o Rakaumangamanga and received a Student Business Woman of the Year award in 2002.

Tangihere Ormsby from Ngaruawahia is in the second year of a BSc (Tech) degree studying environmental sciences and marine biology. She is married with three children and has a teaching diploma and Bachelor of Education degree. She taught for seven years and has also worked in Australia with aboriginal people.