Skip to main content
Published: 2004-10-09 00:00:00

Ten sitting Councillors were returned to Environment Waikato’s Council table in preliminary results from today’s local government elections.

Four of the 14 Councillors retired at this election and one moved constituencies. In Hamilton, the four representatives include businessman and farmer Ian Balme, and sitting members Paula Southgate, David Peart and Lois Livingston who were all returned.

The North Waikato constituency vacated by retiring member Jeanette Thomas was won by sitting member Angus Macdonald, who moved constituencies from Hamilton. In Central Waikato, sitting member Jenni Vernon was returned unopposed. In South Waikato, long serving Councillor and former Putaruru Mayor Jim Howland was returned and in Taupo sitting member Laurie Burdett retained her seat along with new member, former Taupo deputy Mayor Rex Hawkins.

In Thames-Coromandel, Environment Waikato Biosecurity Committee member Arthur Hinds gained the seat left vacant by retiring member Evan Penny, and in Hauraki Local Government New Zealand Chairman and former Hauraki Mayor Basil Morrison won the seat left by retiring chairman Neil Clarke.

In Matamata-Piako, sitting member Steve Osborne won his seat with a narrow margin from former District Councillor Frank Healey. In Waipa, Barry O’Connor retained his seat and North King Country member Andra Neeley was re-elected unopposed. Final results will be posted next week.