Skip to main content
Published: 2016-10-14 00:00:00

All votes have now been counted and Fred Lichtwark has been confirmed as one of the two councillors elected to the Waikato general constituency.

Voting at the end of the weekend had Mr Lichtwark ahead of Tony Armstrong by just 22 votes for Waikato Regional Council, with special votes still to be counted.

The final results received overnight show Jennie Hayman with the most votes on 5087, followed by Mr Lichtwark with 4483 and Mr Armstrong 20 votes behind on 4463.

There have been no other changes for Waikato Regional Council.

A declaration of the official results will be published in the Waikato Times and NZ Herald on Saturday 15 October. Elected members will take office a day later (Sunday 16 October).

However, an elected member cannot act until after they have been officially sworn in. This will take place during the triennial meeting of the new council being held at 2pm on Thursday, 20 October. During that meeting councillors will elect a chairperson and deputy chairperson.

Official election results are available online at

Waikato Regional Council councillors (final results)

Hamilton general constituency (4 vacancies)

  • LIVINGSTON, Lois                            16,494
  • SIMCOCK, Bob                                  16,026
  • HENNEBRY, Jane                              14,810
  • RIMMINGTON, Russ                       12,926

Taupō-Rotorua general constituency (1 vacancy)

  • WHITE, Kathy                                     5464

Thames-Coromandel general constituency (1 vacancy)

  • MINOGUE, Dal                                  2791

Waihou general constituency (2 vacancies – elected unopposed)

  • HUSBAND, Stu
  • VERCOE, Hugh

Waikato general constituency (2 vacancies)

  • HAYMAN, Jennie                             5087
  • LICHTWARK, Fred                            4483

Waipa-King Country general constituency (2 vacancies – elected unopposed)


Ngā Tai Ki Uta Māori constituency (1 vacancy)

  • HODGE, Kataraina                            1659

Ngā Hau E Whā Māori constituency (1 vacancy)

  • MAHUTA, Tipa                                  2550