Skip to main content
Published: 2001-08-24 00:00:00

A total of 34 candidates are vying for seats around Environment Waikato’s Council table, including 13 in a hotly contested Hamilton constituency.

When nominations closed at midday today, three candidates held their seats without a challenger in their constituencies –Neil Clarke in Hauraki, Andra Neeley in North King Country, and Evan Penny in Thames Coromandel.

Four councillors are required for the Hamilton seat, where one sitting member, long serving councillor May Woodcock, is retiring. Candidates include sitting members David Peart, Darryl Smith and Lois Livingston along with new candidates Jacqui Amohanga, Robin Foster, Dan Harris, Steve Hills, Maureen McCool, Angus McDonald, Arthur Muldoon, Paula Southgate, Barry Stirling and Terry Stokes.

At the 1998 election, the four constituent members were returned unopposed.

In Matamata Piako, sitting member Stephen Osborne faces a challenge from Bill Cox and former councillor Rodney Luxton, and long serving councillor Jim Howland has a challenge from Lawrence Ryder.

Jeanette Thomas in the North Waikato constituency has one challenger, Carmen Kirkwood.
In Taupo, where there are two seats, sitting member Murray Black is retiring and sitting member Helen Lane is challenged by Laurie Burdett, John Davis, Makere Rangitoheriri, Wiari Rauhina and Celia Pope.

In the Central Waikato constituency the candidates are Ross Meurant, Shane Solomon and Jenni Vernon.

In Waipa, councillor Morris McFall has retired leaving one seat open for candidates Colin Milne and Barry O’Connor.

The election will be run by postal voting and final polling day is Saturday, October 13.