Skip to main content
Published: 2002-07-29 00:00:00

Environment Waikato has appointed two new biosecurity advisory subcommittees for the Region for the next three years.

The new appointments were confirmed by the Council at this week’s meeting. The Council received 15 nominations for seven positions on the North Zone subcommittee. It selected five previous members and appointed one new member. One vacancy remains for the Matamata Piako constituency and new nominees will be invited for this area. In the South Zone, 13 nominations were received for six positions, with one previous member returned and five new members appointed.

Two new appointees were nominated to represent the Department of Conservation – Findlay Buchanan from Hauraki Area Office for the North Zone and Philip Bradfield from Maniapoto Area Office for the South Zone.

The new subcommittee members are: North Zone; Michael Hope (Central Waikato), Arthur Hinds (Coromandel East), Marcus Ward (Coromandel East), Doug Wright (Hamilton), Roger Buchanan (Hauraki) and David Walter (North Waikato). South Zone; Kaye Nelson and Fiona Scott (North King Country), Chris Luxford (South Waikato), Gordon Hosking and Kellie Rose (Taupo) and David Bennett (Waipa).

The committees provide the Council with stakeholder and sector interest views and opinions on biosecurity issues. Issues considered over the past year include budgets, regional pest management strategy preparation, community possum control schemes, weed control projects and 1080 awareness. Meetings are held quarterly in different areas and include a field visit to interest areas.